Abbottstown Borough Council Meeting January 05, 2017 7PM

CALL TO ORDER: 7:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL: Laura Baker, Dennis Posey, Dale Reichert, April Trivitt, Daniel Watkins,

Also in attendance: Secretary/Treasurer, Loreen Greer

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:

ANNOUNCEMENT: none

PUBLIC COMMENT: none

GUEST: Andrew Merkel, Adams County Office of Planning and Development, spoke about the work his office does for the borough and what they may be able to do in the future. Council asked if he could supply someone to be in the office one day a week in the evening to handle the permitting process. Andrew did not think that would be feasible, but would be available to train any office or council personnel in the zoning permit process. They would not do any code enforcement or building code permits.

OLD BUSINESS:

Newsletter – Create a newsletter to be sent to residents.

Motion made by Laura Baker to create a newsletter to be reviewed by Council prior to being sent to residents; 2nd by Daniel Watkins; Motion carried, 5 Ayes

NEW BUSINESS:

Hire Cleaning Person for Borough Building

Motion made by Laura Baker to hire Linda Boyer to clean the Borough office and restrooms twice a month at \$15.00 per hour upon receipt of her insurance certificate; 2nd by Dale Reichert; Motion carried, 5 Ayes

Zoning Hearing Board Member Appointment – Tabled

East Berlin Area Community Center Representative Appointment Laura resigned from the EBACC board. Appointment of the representatives will be tabled until a later date.

Re-Affirm Borough Appointments, Representatives and Committees

Motion made by April Trivitt to re-affirm the appointments, representatives and
committee members as presented; 2nd by Daniel Watkins; Motion carried, 5 Ayes
April asked that anyone not able to attend their assigned meeting, to please contact the
alternate and arrange for them to be there.

ORGANIZATION REPRESENTATIVES

York Adams Tax Bureau (YATB): Craig Peterson, Dan Watkins (alt)

Adams County Tax Collection Committee (ACTCC): Craig Peterson, Dan Watkins (alt)

Adams County Council of Governments (ACCOG): Craig Peterson, April Trivitt (alt)

Adams County Boroughs Association (ACBA): April Trivitt

Pennsylvania State Boroughs Association (PSAB): April Trivitt

BOARDS, AUTHORITIES and COMMISSIONS

Abbottstown-Paradise Joint Sewer Authority (APJSA): April Trivitt exp 12/31/2018

Craig Peterson exp 12/31/2019
Dennis Posey exp 12/31/2020

East Berlin Area Community Center (EBACC): exp 12/31/2017

_____ exp 12/31/2019

Abbottstown Borough Zoning Hearing Board: Jerry Lillich exp 12/31/2017

Walter Baker exp 12/31/2018

_____ exp 12/31/2019

APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES

Sidewalk and Streets Committee: Dale Reichert, Craig Peterson,

Dan Watkins

Finance and Budget Committee: Borough Council, Mayor

Personnel Committee: Dale Reichert, Dennis Posey

Parks & Recreation Committee: Laura Carson, Dan Watkins

APPOINTED PERSONNEL / ORGANIZATIONS

Engineer C.S. Davidson Solicitor Guy Beneventano

Auditor Waggoner, Frutiger & Daub

Secretary/Treasurer Loreen Greer
Sewage Enforcement Officer Ted Brillhart
Emergency Management Coordinator Laura Carson

Open records Officer Loreen Greer; Laura Carson (alt)

PA One Call representative Dale Reichert

Zoning Officer, Adams County Off Plan Develop

Code Enforcement, Permits & Inspect, Land & Sea Services, LLC

Vacancy Board Faith Peterson

Web Committee Laura Carson, Dennis Posey

Flag Master Craig Peterson
Fire Company Liaison Dale Reichert

COUNCIL COMMENTS:

- Councilor Laura Baker asked the secretary to sign her up for the Grant Writing Workshop on January 26th in York.
- Secretary Loreen Greer reminded Council of the upcoming ACBA dinner meeting on January 16th at 6:15. The State Workers Comp Insurance audit will be Friday January 13th.
- Mayor Craig Peterson absent
- Council Vice President Dale Reichert none
- Councilor April Trivitt said she thought the additional first Thursday meeting would be for working on codifying the current ordinances.
- Councilor Daniel Watkins none
- Council President Dennis Posey none

PUBLIC COMMENT: none

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Next council meeting is January 19, 2017 at 7:00 p.m.

ADJOURNMENT: 8:00 p.m.

Motion made by Daniel Watkins to adjourn at 8:00 p.m.; 2nd by Dale Reichert; Motion carried, 5 Ayes

| carried, 5 Ayes | |
|-------------------------------------|---|
| Submitted, | |
| | |
| | _ |
| Loreen Greer, Secretary – Treasurer | _ |